On behalf of The Berger Firm
Kentucky DUI Laws Every Defendant Should Know
If you are facing criminal charges, you need to be aware of the laws and your rights as you seek to counter the claims made by police. Criminal defense relies on having a strong legal team, knowledgeable of the laws when presenting your case before the judge. The best place to begin is with the basics of state DUI laws.
Gauging Alcohol in The Body
Having a good time without causing danger to yourself or others is an accomplishment that not everyone can claim. When you are flashed down to pull over by Kentucky police, they check your blood alcohol level does not exceed 0.08 percent. If you are under the age of 21, the BAC limit dips to 0.02 percent.
Other factors that could further complicate a DUI charge include:
- Running a stop sign or red light
- Not participating with law enforcement
- Driving with a child 12 years or younger
- Having a BAC level higher than 0.15 percent
- Causing an accident resulting in severe injuries or death
The Ladder of DUI Offenses
Whether you are young and driving under the influence or you are a repeat offender to DUI laws, you need to know how the laws stack up against you if convicted.
- 1st offense: $200 to $500 fines; 48 hours to 30 days jail time
- 2nd offense: $350 to $500 fines; seven days to six months jail time
- 3rd offense: $500 to $1000 fines; 30 days to 12 months jail time
- 4th offense: $1,000 to $10,000 fines; a minimum of 240 days in jail
Remember to seek legal counsel and representation when at the hands of the court system. It can make a difference in the final decisions made and how your record follows you into the future.